That Time My Mom Filed Bankruptcy 

Although my mom and siblings moved out 8 months ago, they still get mail here. I know that opening someone else’s mail is a federal offense, so I have other ways to be nosey.

I hold the mail up, place a bright flashlight behind it, and read what I can through the envelope.

What did I see?

“Chapter 13″… “Cease”… “Suspend”… “Wage garnishment”.

I have no idea how bankruptcy or Chapter 13 work, but what I gathered was that mom’s check was being garnished and they were  ending the garnishment.

That’s great I guess, but when the heck did she file bankruptcy? And why?

This woman is the queen of keeping secrets.

Leave a Reply

