That Time I Decided to Be Selfish

My mom, brother and sister all celebrate birthdays in the same week. Over the years, I’ve always acknowledged their birthdays with gifts, nice dinners, etc.

But this year?

Nothing.

I just feel like I’ve gone above and beyond for them over the past 2-3 years. They lived with my husband and I for 18 months (two different times). And they lived here RENT FREE. I mean, when my mom got back her income tax return in 2014, she kept all $4,000 to herself (that’s what my dad told me). She didn’t even offer me $50 for groceries. Nothing. I’m so tired of going out of my way to help others and no one can ever do a damn thing for me (even though I don’t need anything, but still).

So I decided to turn a new leaf in 2016. I’m not bending over backwards for anyone anymore, especially grown ass adults. You don’t have any gas money for the week? YOU figure it out. No ride to work? YOU figure it out. I know they are not used to me being so ungiving, especially my little brother, but they’ll get used to it.

I feel bad and guilty, even though I know I shouldn’t. But at the same time, I’m glad that I’m finally standing up for myself.

Leave a Reply

