That Time I Decided to Drop By Mom’s House Unannounced

I went by my mom’s house today. I just wanted to check in and see how things were going. She and my sister (age 19) got into an altercation last week, according to my dad. It was about money. It got so bad that my sister got out of the car on the side of the road and my dad had to go pick her up–behind an abandoned building, no less. Oh, and my mom threw all her things out the car along the side of the road too.

Good times.

They seem to be doing OK a week later, I guess. Mom was preparing Sunday dinner when I arrived. My brother and sister were in their empty rooms lying on the floor playing games on their phones.

There’s still not one single piece of furniture in the house. Everything is still in storage. Surprise, surprise. After just a couple hours there, my back was aching from sitting on the floor, so I can only imagine how they all are doing after a month with no beds, sofa, chairs, etc.

They’ve also taken in a roommate. I didn’t meet her, but apparently she’s a friend and former coworker of my mom’s who was in a rough spot and needed somewhere to stay.

God I hope she’s paying rent.

Although I hate that their living conditions are this way, I’m done playing mommy and providing every little thing for them. So I visited with them for a couple hours (most of which my mom was on the phone with some guy) and went on my merry way.

What an awesome feeling.

Leave a Reply

