That Time My Dad Gave My Mom Chlamydia

Timeframe: 2004

I can’t remember exactly how it came up. Maybe I took my mom to the doctor. Maybe she called me after the fact. All I know is this:

She was at the doctor for a pregnancy check up.

I assume blood tests were done.

Doctor informed her she had chlamydia.

She said my dad gave it to her.

Since they were separated/not on speaking terms at the time, I had to be the one to tell him.

(10 years later I’m just now realizing how messed up it was that I was burdened with this task).

Anyway, I called my dad and told him. He completely denied having any STD and didn’t believe anything I was saying.

Later that evening, I met him at a gas station to give him copies of whatever paperwork my mom asked me to give him.

If I recall correctly, he got tested pretty quickly. It was positive for chlamydia.

None of us ever spoke about it again, and they remained married (sometimes together, sometimes separated) for another 11 years.

 

Leave a Reply

