That Time My Mom Lied About Needing Money

Timeframe: Summer 2015

The story:

My mom (and siblings) have been living in my home for a solid 7 months now — 4 months longer than we originally agreed (in writing, no less). To help her save money, she gives me a portion of her paycheck (always less than $200) every two weeks. Because of a few hiccups, she’s only saved $640 so far in 7 months.

A few weeks ago, she said she was completely broke and needed exactly $140 to pay car insurance (for her car and my dad’s car–they are divorced). I gave her the money from her stash.

Two days later, she walks in the house with groceries. Nothing wrong with that, but it was unusual. I can count on one hand how many times she’s bought groceries in 7 months.

So I got suspicious.

First – If I gave her $140 cash for her car insurance payment, how did she pay it? I’m almost sure she pays it online or over the phone, which means she would have needed to deposit the money.

Second – If she did in fact pay the $140 car insurance payment, where did money come from for groceries? Did she lie about how much money she really needed? Was the car insurance payment really less than $140 and she kept the extra for pocket money?

As usual lately, I said nothing. If I question her questionable choices, it’ll start WWIII.

Narcissistic behaviors/traits displayed by mom:

  • Expert liar and master manipulators

 

Leave a Reply

