That Time My Mom “Borrowed” My Sister’s Graduation Gift

Timeframe: 2014

The story:

My sister had just graduated from high school. To celebrate, we all went out to a simple, cheap dinner at a local chain restaurant.

Toward the end of the meal, I handed my sister a card. In it was a heartfelt note about starting out adulthood on the right foot and knowing how to spend money wisely. In the card was cash–$400 to be exact.

My advice to her was to use the money to pay for driving school so that she could obtain her license before leaving for college. But technically, the cash was a gift, so she was free to do whatever she wanted with it.

The very next morning–not even 12 hours after receiving the cash–my mom asked me sister to borrow some of it. I can’t remember how much my sister said it was, but that’s not the point. That money was a gift from me to acknowledge my sister’s achievement and she soured it.

My sister told me to keep my mouth shut, and I did. But we were both livid. I don’t know what my mom needed the money for, and I’m not even sure she paid it back.

Narcissistic behaviors/traits displayed by mom:

  • Always wants to be taken care of
  • Acts as a parasite, feeding off of what others can give to them and do for them
  • 100% self centered
One thought on “That Time My Mom “Borrowed” My Sister’s Graduation Gift

Leave a Reply

