That Time My Mom Lied to the Neighbor

Timeframe: Around 2006

The story:

I logged onto my computer one day to check email. Once I was in, I realized that Yahoo! was still logged into my mom’s account from when she’d used my computer the day before. I know I shouldn’t have, but I went snooping through her sent mail. And what I saw shocked me.

My mom had hired a neighbor to help tutor my sister with math. The neighbor was an older woman–I’m guessing in her 50s–and I think she was a former teacher. I assume the time had come for my mom to pay. The email my mom sent said something like,

“Sorry I haven’t paid you yet. My oldest daughter offered to pay for the tutoring and she hasn’t given me the money yet. I’ll pay you as soon as she gives it to me.”

What?????????? I didn’t even know my sister was being tutored!

Although I felt like I might explode, I never said a word. I didn’t want her to know I’d been looking at her email. Even now–about 10 years later–my mom doesn’t know I saw that email.

Narcissistic behaviors/traits displayed by mom:

  • avoids responsibility
  • blames others for her problems
  • expert liar; master manipulator
Leave a Reply

