That Time My Mom Was Jealous of Me

Timeframe: Holiday season 2014

The story:

Since I’ve been married, I don’t spend many holidays with my own family. Generally speaking, do their own thing and I do mine.

I called my mom to wish her a happy holiday–and to see if my brother could fit the clothes I got him. She was spending the day with a family from church.

During the phone call, she goes into this long speech, explaining the following:

  • How much she loves me
  • How I’m the only person she’s ever been able to depend on
  • How I’ve made her so proud
  • When she was younger, she used to fantasize about having a stable, care-free life just like mine

I listened intently, but I’m not one to get mushy and overly emotional. I thanked her and got off the phone.

As usual, I think she was trying to butter me up. I didn’t know it at the time, but her landlord had begun eviction proceedings because she hadn’t paid rent. In a way, I feel like her praise was just to get on my good side so she could come live with me again.

That’s exactly what happened.

Narcissistic behaviors/traits displayed by mom:

  • Usually attach themselves to strong, independent, successful people that can do everything for them
  • Likes to fantasize about how they believe their life should be
Leave a Reply

