I’m Not a Narcissist… What Am I Doing Here?

I am not a narcissist. But somehow, I’m surrounded by a family full of them.

My dad – in his early 50’s

My mom – in her early 50’s

My sister – late teen/early 20s

My brother – a pre-teen

(I am married, but thankfully he’s not a narcissist.)

I’m not sure how I escaped the beast that is narcissism, but I’m glad I did.

My therapist suggested I start a blog. Because I’m surrounded by so much family drama, I suffer from anxiety. I’m a chronic worrier, always over-analyzing every situation and waiting for what will go wrong next. I guess it’s supposed to be a creative way for me to unleash my frustration and rage–of course all caused by my narcissistic family. Let’s see how long I can keep this up. I’m really not fond of using my free time to write a blog and not get paid for it. I’m kidding. Sort of.

Because my family situation is complex and goes back 30+ years, I’ll try to keep each post brief and to the point. I won’t bore you with paragraph after paragraph and page after page of my drama. I know I wouldn’t read all that, so I don’t expect you to.

So stick around for a while enjoy this disaster of a ride. Any advice? Leave a comment. I BEG YOU!

Let me clarify that no one in my family has ever been officially diagnosed by a professional as a narcissist. Through my own reading and matching up the telltale signs with their behaviors, I am convinced that they are.

3 thoughts on “I’m Not a Narcissist… What Am I Doing Here?

  1. I’ve read every articles you wrote. Some parts were really funny (even though I know it wasn’t the point), some others were a bit sadder. However, I really like the way you write (the articles are short so we don’t get bored, but they don’t lack of anything), plus if it helps you as a therapy, then I can only recommend that you keep writting 🙂
    Xx
    (Ps : I hope my english wasn’t that bad, i’m French)

    Like

Leave a Reply

